Before you tow, you need to know!
 
Towing a car by Tow bar or A-Frame on all four tires behind their RV is a very popular way to travel. RVing in general is a big responsibility and staying educated is key. When flat towing there are two things to consider. The first is towing laws for each state and country, the other is the Gross Combination Weight Rating (GCWR) for your motorhome.
 
Federal Regulations Title 49 (49CFR571.4) of the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (10-01-08 edition) defines a 'trailer' as follows: “Trailer means a motor vehicle with or without motive power, designed for carrying persons or property and for being drawn by another motor vehicle."
Click Here to learn why towing laws are in place.
 
State by State Towing laws



STATE
Max Towed Vehicle Weight Or
Stopping Distance w/o Brake
Alabama
3000 lbs
Alaska
5000 lbs
Arizona 3000 lbs
Arkansas
3000 lbs
California
1500 lbs
Colorado
3000 lbs
Connecticut
3000 lbs
Delaware
4000 lbs
Florida
3000 lbs
Georgia
3000 lbs
Hawaii 3000 lbs
Idaho
1500 lbs
Illinois 3000 lbs
Indiana 3000 lbs
Iowa 3000 lbs
Kansas Achieve specific stopping
distance. 40 ft @ 20 mph
Kentucky Achieve specific stopping
distance. 40 ft @ 20 mph
Louisiana 3000 lbs
Maine 3000 lbs
Maryland 3000 lbs
Massachusetts 10000 lbs
Michigan 3000 lbs
Minnesota 3000 lbs
Mississippi 2000 lbs
Missouri N/A
Montana 3000 lbs
Nebraska 3000 lbs
Nevada 3000 lbs
New Hampshire
1500 lbs
New Jersey
3000 lbs
New Mexico
3000 lbs
New York
3000 lbs
North Carolina
4000 lbs
North Dakota
3000 lbs
Ohio 2000 lbs
Oklahoma 3000 lbs
Oregon Achieve specific stopping
distance. 40 ft @ 20 mph
Pennsylvania 3000 lbs
Rhode Island
4000 lbs
South Carolina
3000 lbs
South Dakota
3000 lbs
Tennessee 3000 lbs
Texas 4500 lbs
Utah Achieve specific stopping
distance. 40 ft @ 20 mph
Vermont 3000 lbs
Virginia 3000 lbs
Washington 3000 lbs
West Virginia
3000 lbs
Wisconsin 3000 lbs
Wyoming Achieve specific stopping
distance. 40 ft @ 20 mph



PROVINCE
Minimum Towing
Weight Requirement
Alberta
2000 lbs
British Columbia
2000 lbs
Manitoba 2000 lbs
New Brunswick
3000 lbs
New Foundland
3000 lbs
Northwest
Territories

Always Required
Nova Scotia
4000 lbs
Ontario
3000 lbs
Prince Edward
Island

3000 lbs
Quebec
3000 lbs
Saskatchewan 3000 lbs
Yukon
3000 lbs